iconicgirl

Iconic Poetry: This Woman Knows Her Worth

In Poetry; Inspiration on July 5, 2011 at 9:04 pm
abeautifulreason:
My worth is unmentionable; you cannot put a price on me
Portuguese and black sister with God’s love to proclaim.
Light skinned sista with light colored eyes.
Oh yes we come in different colors, in shapes, and size…

A very proud black woman, a true artifact of class.
You couldn’t’t rate me with a dirty coin.
A dime piece?!!! PLEASE I will surely pass.
I love and fear God, there’s no shame in my game.
Wont was a second ignoring a man calling me baby, ma, or shorty…
My mother already gave me a name.
You Cant determine my being a woman from the wiggle in my behind,
But do it by how I respect people whether they’re cripple, crazy, or blind.
For Jesus is love and he surely loves you and me.
And for that I love myself…I hope there are a few more sistas out there like me.
– Dr. Red
 
(photo via blackintellectual)
  1. I LOVE your blog! Your absolutely right we come in all different shapes and sizes & that is something that we should embrace. I am happy to find your blog that celebrates the uniqueness and beauty in all of us! xo

  2. iLove her hair!!

Leave a Reply

